Support Reconciliation SA. Become a FRIEND today! Support Reconciliation SA

Gladys Elphick AwardsCeremony:

2016 celebrates the 50th Anniversary of the Council of Aboriginal Women of South Australia.  In honour of its founding members, we acknowledge these women who were trail blazers and instrumental in raising the status of Aboriginal people at a state and national level. Auntie Gladys was the Council’s first President and worked tirelessly alongside many influential Aboriginal women like Betty Watson, Margaret Lawrie, Maude Tongerie, Lowitja O’Donaghue and Faith Thomas to name a few. 

The Gladys Elphick Awards Ceremony, which this year will beheld at the Adelaide Festival Centre on Friday 26th August, was established to honour the legacy of these women and continue the tradition by acknowledging the significant contribution of Aboriginal women in all areas of the community.

If you know a South Australian Aboriginal woman who is deserving of recognition for her work in the community, please nominate her before the 12th August.

To book a table, please click here.